Shadowfang Keep

Shadowfang Keep Cleared!

As I was merrily on my way to Shadowfang Keep, I kept stumbling upon a kill quest after kill quest in various locations. Quest givers in the middle of the road want those ugly looking monstrosities called mining dwarves out of their Southern Barrens to preserve the wondrous nature of the desert. By the time I got to Shadowfang Keep, and acquired the necessary quests into the area, I had turned level 23. Since most of the mobs in SFK are around 18-22, with the last boss being 23, I pretty much breezed through it.

I did however manage to record a short video of the later portion of the run, to which I have added a short explanation of how my methods of multiboxing are conducted. However recording it wasn’t as hard as the actual editing and encoding. I haven’t edited video in a good while, so re-learning the software was time consuming. I also had tons of problems capturing the video and encoding it. I ended up using a program called Camstudio, which captures the entire screen rather than a single window. I made the mistake of capturing in reduced resolution of 640×512 rather than my monitor’s resolution 1280×1024. This resulted in double compression when making the final version, which reduced the quality to below what would have been had I used a high quality original. A mistake that I will try to avoid in the future.

Nifter in SFK from Nifter MB on Vimeo.
FileFront High Quality Download (94 MB)

There is a steaming version of the video I hosted on Vimeo, however I would suggest you download the high quality hosted file on FileFront or medium quality hosted file on Vimeo. Vimeo has an option to download the source file at the bottom of the page, however you must be a member. I think I made the mistake of making the background music a little too loud, I apologize if it ruined your impression of the video.

The major improvement in this run was the speed with which I finished the entire instance. Roughly an hour for all boss kills. No wipes, 2 quests completed. However this might have been because most of the mobs inside were green to me rather than the proper yellow.

Final Score: B

2 Responses to “Shadowfang Keep”

  1. Bonerot Says:

    Looks awesome, very nice control setup.

    Does keyclone do the video switching when you change characters or is that another software?

  2. Yes Keyclone is responsible for the switch. It’s a feature which is setup in the same location as it’s Maximizer feature. For every window you set up, there is a place where you can set a hot key. It works similar to alt+tab, but a more sophisticated version.

    Say you have 2 WoW windows open. One is taking up 3/4 of the screen, the other is taking up only 1/4 of the screen. While you have the first one selected, you press the hot key of the other, and it will switch their locations on the screen. The first one will go into the 1/4 spot, and the small one will now take up 3/4 of the screen. You can later switch it back by pressing the first one’s hot key.

    This is great for me since my 2nd monitor is really old. The brightness is turned up to full, but it is still only 50% as bright as my main monitor. This makes it impossible to actually distinguish objects in most parts of the game. Since the WoW windows are in window mode, I also cannot change the in game brightness.

Leave a comment