Multi-Boxing – How Does Work?

Multi-boxing is the art of controlling multiple characters simultaneously. Initially named after the need to use multiple computers to accomplish.

This can be done using different methods. Primarily a hardware method, and a software method. A hardware method is done using multiple PCs and controlling it by using splitters, multicasters, and switches. Basically you use one mouse and keyboard, but you can chose to multiply the signal to each PC, or using various switches send signals to specific PCs. This is a rather expensive option, but provides best results as each PC controls their own client with minimal slow downs.

The other option is software. A software which multiplies the signal it receives from the mouse or keyboard to specific applications. There are certain limitation to this method. The mouse cannot be used in all windows simultaneously. Although there are programs which let you pass in mouse clicks. It is very difficult, if not impossible to use mouse turn using these programs.

My Setup:

The method I use is entirely software. I use a single 19 inch monitor, with 1280 by 1024 resolution, on to which I fit 5 game clients. I use a key broadcasting software called Keyclone. Which has so far shown good results, however I have yet to try any others, so my opinion of it is still biased.

The following is a screenshot of my how my screen looks like during game play:
Cramped. I could probably get a second monitor to work, but just plugging it in and switching to dual view in the settings didn’t work. At the moment this works, and I am much too lazy to bother changing it, but ultimately a second monitor will come into play.

My main client runs capped at 60 fps, while my slaves are capped at 15 fps. My main usually runs at around 45-50 fps in most cases. Everything runs pretty smoothly, although I have yet to visit a major city besides The Crossroads, so we’ll see how it holds up in Shattrath and Alterac Valley.

I may edit this post in the near future if I feel I need to add more information.

Here are my full PC specs for those interested to know:

CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X3210 @ 2.13GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 4 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS
Monitor: ViewSonic VS10162 – 19″ LCD
Operating System: Windows Serverâ„¢ Code Name “Longhorn”

Leave a comment